Diablo 2: Beginner's Guide, Everything you need to know as a beginner

With Diablo 2: Resurrected, an absolute ARPG classic has received its remaster. MTMMO.COM tells you what you need to know when you look at the game for the first time.

With Diablo 2: Resurrected, an absolute ARPG classic has received its remaster. MTMMO.COM tells you what you need to know when you look at the game for the first time.


What can I find here? 

While the release of Diablo 2 was a bit bumpy, here are some tips to help you get started with the game better.

We give you general tips on Diablo 2 and the first few hours in the game so that you can find your way around and avoid possible mistakes. In doing so, we try to address the most important questions a beginner in Resurrected might have.

For advanced users, there may also be some tips that can help you. Veterans will already know all of this though. But you are cordially invited to submit your own tips for newcomers in the comments.

You will soon find more detailed guides on further topics. If you're still deciding whether you should check out Diablo 2 at all, check out our Resurrected release checklist.


Starting Tips and Act 1: Hardcore, Difficulties, Classes and Skills

What levels of difficulty are there? 

In Diablo 2 you can play on 3 different levels of difficulty. However, as a beginner, only the normal difficulty is open to you, on which a newly created character starts:

  • Normal - nothing special, you're around level 40 after the playthrough. You don't lose any XP on death

  • Nightmare - Unlocked after beating the game on Normal. You start over in Act 1, keeping your level and gear, but losing resistances and other attributes. Enemies are tougher and the areas are larger. You lose 5% XP on death

  • Hell - unlocked after "Nightmare". Enemies are even stronger, are mostly immune to a certain effect, and you lose more XP when you die. Only in "Hell" can you fight the over-bosses


What is hardcore? 

When you create a character, you can choose whether you want to play "Hardcore" or "Softcore". In hardcore mode, you get other titles, but when you die, your character is dead for good. You can no longer play him then.

We strongly recommend the Softcore mode for newcomers.


What can the classes do? 

There are a total of 7 classes to choose from in Resurrected, as all classes from the expansion are also playable - right from the start. The classes are:

  • Amazon: Fights with spear and bow and uses elemental magic to strengthen.

  • Assassin: Fights with traps, bows or claws, preferably in close combat.

  • Barbarian: Uses large melee axes and warcries to buff yourself and allies.

  • Druid: Is equipped with nature magic, can summon animals and transform.

  • Paladin: A type of tank that fights with a weapon and shield and uses auras for buffs.

  • Necromancer: Creates living dead as servants and fights himself with poison and curses.

  • Sorceress: Harnesses magical powers to defeat enemies with various elements.

If you can't decide, here's a quiz for you to help you choose a class in Resurrected.


Can I reset skills? 

Yes. In each act you can reset your skills once for free or from Hell difficulty with a special item.

With this knowledge in mind, you should pay some attention to how you skill your character, but you can still let off steam and try things out relatively freely at first. The "right" builds are only really important from Nightmare or Hell.


How many potions can I carry? 

Unlike Diablo 3, you still use up your potions in Diablo 2. You have 4 slots at the beginning, each of which can hold a potion of any size.

Once you find a belt, you unlock 4 more slots, but they can only hold one potion. The first 4 slots, which you operate via hotkeys, are still used for activation.


Can I also play solo?

 Yes, Diablo 2 offers both a solo and even an offline mode. Both solo and co-op play have their advantages:

  • Solo: You can take your time and don't have to share. Offline you don't need any premium subscriptions like PS Plus or an internet connection in general.

  • Co-op: You can cover a larger area and benefit from buffs from other players. However, the opponents become stronger with each additional adventurer in the group.

You also have mercenaries at your disposal - NPCs who will accompany you. Remember that you can also equip them with new items via the menu and make them stronger. If a mercenary dies, you can revive him in town or hire a new one.


What is the Horadric Cube? 

With this item, which you get in Act 2, you can do various things. The cube allows you, for example, to upgrade items or unlock the over-bosses later.

You can also use it as an intermediate store, since it can store more items than it takes up slots in the inventory. You will soon find a detailed guide to the Horadric Cube here.


What are rune words? 

You will find special runes quite early in the game that work like gems and can be placed in socket slots. You can use these runes just like that, but you should save them for later.

Placing the runes in an item in a specific order creates a "D2R Runeword". This turns the item into something extra powerful.


Lora Young

3 Blog posts